Shh! Don’t tell anyone but its not actually my birthday this month. It was my beautiful Momma’s birthday on the 9th February and I made this card for her. I couldn’t wait until next month to show it off so Sam kindly let me do an early hop this month instead.

The Spring/Summer 2017 occasions catalogue is full of lovely stamp sets, but the first one that really caught my eye was the Beautiful You set. We all know someone who is on trend, at anyone time in our lives there is always someone we know who is totally carefree and unfortunately there are also times when someone we know who needs cheering up. This set has all three elements covered in both images and sentiments. My Momma is way more stylish than me, so the lady with hat image seemed the most fitting for her birthday card.

img_7367

To make this card, I took a sheet of A4 Whisper White and cut it across the long side at 5 1/2″, scoring it across the width at 4 1/8″. I then cut a matt layer in Wisteria Wonder at 4 1/2″ x 3″ and layered another piece of Whisper White that was 4″ x 2 3/4″.  I stamped the lady in Basic Black and the sentiment underneath in Wisteria Wonder. I then stamped the lady again onto a sheet of Wisteria Wonder Designer Series Paper and fussy cut her dress and hat out. I attached the dress and hat with a little Tombow adhesive, which is a technique called Paper Piecing. Finally, I popped each layer up using some Foam Adhesive Strips so that the card has some dimension.

I hope you like my project and don’t forget to check out all of the Pootlers who really did have birthdays in February!

