I am so excited to be taking part in the Pootles Design Team, and in March as well, my Birthday month. The premise is very simple; we are given a stamp set to use and each week design a project to showcase just how versatile the set is. Now I must admit here I signed up very quickly and was super excited when I was picked. Then, for those few days in between being picked and receiving my chosen set, I was a bit anxious. The chosen stamp set is a surprise, so until you open the packet you don’t actually know what you’ve let yourself in for!

We received Just Keep Swimming, a cute set that I had flicked past in the occasions catalogue because it’s a two-step stamp set. Two-step stamping requires concentration (well I think so anyway!). However, the little gummy bear image has my little Matthew written all over it and as it was his third birthday last Saturday it seemed only fitting that my first project be inspired by him.


I decided to go quite bright with this project. I cut a piece of Kraft card to 11″ X 4″ and scored at 5.5″ to make a top folding card. I cut a piece of Whisper White to 5″ X 3.5. To get the gummy bear body a lighter shade I stamped each bear off onto scrap paper first; ink your stamp, stamp to scrap and then stamp onto your nacard. For the darker outline/features these are just stamped normally and the beauty of our photopolymer stamps is that even without a stamp-a-ma-jig they are quite easy to line up. I then rounded all the corners and stuck my stamped layer flat onto my card base. I chose not to put a greeting onto the front as I couldn’t place it anywhere I liked. Honestly, I think that’s ok sometimes.

As this was themed around Matthew’s birthday, I also decided to make a little party favour bag. I placed 12 little gummy bears into one of our 2″ X 8″ clear cellophane bags. I folded the top and used a 2″ X 4″ (scored at 2″) piece of Whisper White that I had stamped a couple of gummy bears and the sentiment onto.

I hope you enjoyed this project, I’m off to sit with some gummy bears and take a look around the other projects from this week!
Lou xx

