Fish Shaker Card

img_1204-1

I’m equal parts sad and excited this week. I’m sad because it’s my last week on this Design Team. Exciting though, because I think I’ve saved my favourite project for last.

Our set is called Just Keep Swimming and I was adamant I wanted to do something fun with the fish image and sentiment.

Shaker cards are my new favourite! They are so cute to look at and definitely worth the effort. I don’t think I’ll get bored of making these for quite a while.

IMG_7674

To make the rectangular fish tank I elongated the largest square stitched die through my big shot; that is I cut half of it, and then put the other half through after. It’s not as hard as you think as you simply line the stitched holes up and they should connect perfectly. I attached a piece of acetate with tear and tape to the tank frame and then I used a double layer of foam strip to give room for the shaker. I attached the tank frame to a pool party card base (4.25″ x 11″ long and scored at 5.25″). Instead of being a top opening card, I turned this to be a side opener. I added in some sequins with the fish to give it a bit of sparkle, any sequins you have would be perfect for this.

IMG_7673

I didn’t use all 3 steps of the stamps for my fish, I quite liked the look of the solid fish shape stamped off and then the darker highlight of the eyes and mouth.

I have really enjoyed working with this stamp set and I hope my projects have inspired you enough to purchase the set yourself. If you would like any further help with any of the projects I have showcased, please leave a comment or send me a message through my contact form and I will be happy to help you 🙂

Louise xoxo

